About Us

The Quantum Colaboratory (Quantum Colab) is a professionally-run, shared resource for developing and deploying quantum technologies.

Open to all research and development activities, the Quantum Colab supports work in academia, industry and not-for-profits. It is unique in providing a complete solution to the design, fabrication, testing and deployment of quantum devices. It houses, develops and shares the tools and expertise necessary to advance quantum technology.

The Quantum Colab was established in 2019 by combining the tools and expertise of three quantum-focused Canada First Research Excellence Fund programs: Stewart Blusson Quantum Matter Institute at the University of British Columbia (UBC), Institut Quantique at Université de Sherbrooke (UdeS) and Transformative Quantum Technologies (TQT) at the University of Waterloo (UW). It represents an investment of more than $110 million. The Quantum Colab is run by a team of more than 50 technical staff, reaching over 300 users across Canada and beyond.

Governance and Management

Oversight and governance of the Quantum Colab facility are through the Quantum Colab Board of Directors. Reporting to the Board of Directors is the Executive Committee. The Board of Directors and Executive Committee are supported by various committees, including the International Science Advisory Committee.

This Governance and Management structure is designed to ensure that the Quantum Colab has the means, quality, depth, and leadership to realize its mission.


Charmaine Dean

Vice President Research and International, University of Waterloo (Chair)

Rachel Fernandez

Associate Vice President Research and Innovation, University of British Columbia

Jean-Pierre Perreault

Vice-President Research and Graduate Studies, Université de Sherbrooke

Archana Kamal

Assistant Professor, Physics, The University of Massachusetts Lowell

Andrew Stephens

Board Director, Genome Canada

David Dean

Deputy Director, Science, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility

Brittanee Laverdure

Regional Vice President, Indigenous Wealth, Royal Bank of Canada

David Cory

Chair, Executive Committee (non-voting)

Andrea Damascelli

Professor, University of British Columbia

Alexandre Blais

Professor, Université de Sherbrooke

Tracey Forrest

Program Director, University of Waterloo

Pinder Dosanjh

Operations Manager, University of British Columbia

Christian Sarra-Bournet

Executive Director, Université de Sherbrooke

Michael Huber

Physicist, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Jonas Bylander

Associate Professor, Chalmers University of Technology

Bilge Yildiz

Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jennifer Choy

Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Monika Schleier-Smith

Associate Professor, Stanford University

David Cory

Professor, University of Waterloo (Chair)

Bruce Balcom

Professor, University of New Brunswick

Maryam Ebrahimi

Assistant Professor, Lakehead

Carolyn Moorlag

Director, Center for Advanced Manufacturing and Design Technologies, Sheridan


The Quantum Colab’s Strategic Plan, “Bringing Quantum Technologies to Life,” calls for the following actions:

Provide resources to enable quantum technology development

Open these resources to the broad community, including those pursuing applications

Continue to develop new capabilities in-house and transition these to user facilities

Train users and serve as an attractor to help grow the quantum industry in Canada

Make the Quantum Colab sustainable through a diverse portfolio of support